Five Years Plus











{February 13, 2010}   Mon Petit Chou

Every time I open the fridge I see a green cabbage sitting silently at the back of the middle shelf. As the other veges disappear it remains, until one day it whispers “what about me?” “Not today”, I reply guiltily, knowing full well the outer leaves will be turning brown before I pull it out to reluctantly juice it – it’s happened before. I also know I’m not doing it justice by letting it sit six or eight weeks when two weeks is the recommended keeping time for a fresh cabbage. Poor petit chou, it never hurt any one.

Where else can you get four pounds of fat-free, low-carb, gluten-free, vegan, organic goodness for less than four dollars? A member of the cruciferous family, it boasts cancer-fighting abilities and antibacterial properties that can sooth stomach ulcers.

When a friend told me she was about to start a week on the cabbage soup diet my ears perked up. I admit I’m reluctant to put this in as my first recipe. It’s simple, nourishing fare; there’s nothing glamorous about it. (I amended it slightly. You can find the original by googling “cabbage soup diet” but please be aware I’m not recommending this diet. I have neither studied nor tried it.)

Cabbage Soup
6 green onions
1 large yellow, orange or red pepper
1 28 oz can diced tomatoes
3 carrots
8 oz mushrooms
1 bunch celery
half a head of cabbage
2 cubes of vegetable bouillon (I like Rapunzel brand)
8 cups homemade vege broth
2 cups water
cayenne to taste
salt and pepper to taste
Chop everything into bite size pieces, bring to boil and simmer for 1 hour or more. I use only organic ingredients, especially when cleansing.

I made the vege broth by chopping spinach, zucchini, celery and parsley, covering it with an ample amount of pure water, simmering for 45 minutes, cooling and straining. These days I make this broth regularly as it is part of the post-holiday cleanse my husband and I are doing. The broth is purported to be very alkalizing and sipping it during the day seems to help ward off hunger.

This recipe makes a huge pot of cabbage soup. I gave some away and we still ate it four days straight. It made a nice lunch in a thermos and today my husband added some lamburger balls for a meaty twist.

The remaining cabbage is still visible beyond the bags of spinach and jar of sprouts. Perhaps I’ll make juice tomorrow…

"chop everything into bite size pieces"

Deb Kenn says:

Gyata,
I’m usually a lurker in the cabbage blog patch but this entry brought me out from hiding! Such a great reminder of the simple, good things in life. Nothing better than a big pot of cabbage soup to soothe us through February. And…the use of advanced technology (how did you get those vegetables from the counter to the blog??) to convey the most basic self-care. Thank you. Your readers thank you and the Cabbage Protection Society of North America thanks you.
love,
deb



Ann Hedley says:

Hi Gyata,
Made a big pot of your cabbage soup tonight and enjoyed it with our dinner in front of the TV watching the Olympics 🙂



Hayley says:

Gyata!

I never got Dad’s text reminding me what the URL of you blog was, but after receiving your email tonight when I got back from work I read through the whole thing :~) I don’t think I’ve ever read something you’ve written, and I agree with all your other commentators that your writing style is beautiful and eloquent, even when talking about cabbages!

I’m trying to get my eating, sleeping and working habits all in order these days so you’re blog is not only well-written but helpful. Today my therapist turned me on to this website “www.nutrimirror.com”. It seems a bit complicated but ultimately very helpful. I’ve always rebelled against calorie-counting, it seemed like a medium through which to punish yourself after binging. Too many girls my age were obsessed with depriving themselves and it never sat well with me. But after only one day, this website makes me a bit more conscious of what I’m eating because I will have to reconcile what I’ve put in my body when I enter my meals in every night.

So anyway! If you want to check out the website and see if it looks like a decent idea I would appreciate it 🙂 But I’m glad I checked out your blog, it’s truly wonderful. I will keep checking back for updates!

Love,
Hay

P.S. I like the picture in the top left corner… Who did it?



gyatazen says:

Thanks for your comment Hayley. We did spend some time looking at the nutritional website you mentioned and even figured out how to enter a recipe. I like that it calculates nutrients in the format of the familiar “Nutritional Facts” label. If you are inspired to spend the time entering your data and you find it helpful, go for it! I’ll be interested to hear if you keep it up or not and what you learn from it.
I periodically keep a food journal to help me get on track with eating and exercise. I think anything that helps us to be come more aware is a good thing.



Lindsay says:

LOL! That is hilarious since I personally have half of a cabbage sitting in my refrigerator right now. It has been there since Easter (2 1/2 weeks ago). I Made some cole slaw, a perfect side dish for haddock sticks. But now I know what to do with the rest of it. Supposed to be cold and rainy the next couple of days….perfect for hot soup.



Lindsay says:

Oh…forgot to ask, hope it is not too ignorant. Is the 8 cups of veggie broth made with the 2 cubes of Rapunzel bouillon? And then 2 more cups of water besides?



gyatazen says:

Oh that is a little confusing. It is 8 cups of vege broth in addition to 2 cups of water, plus the boullion for extra flavor. You can make your own broth (recipe on blog) or use a bought one. You can also replace some of the broth with tomato juice.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
